top of page
Search

Offline, Sustainable Ways To Maintain Long Distance Friendships

Whether it be moving away for college, or more recently, a global pandemic, there are many changes in our lives that can cause us to spend time apart from those we love. In my case, my parents’ indecisiveness in regards to where to put down roots resulted in my now having several of my closest friends living far away. For many students at Davis, becoming an Aggie involves leaving friends and family back home, maybe for the first time. In addition, those of us whose time at UCD is coming to an end must face the unfortunate reality that we will be living away from our college friends next year. Luckily, technology can help us maintain these long distance relationships, but to supplement our virtual forms of connection, I like to stay close to my loved ones in tangible yet sustainable ways.


A Good Old Fashioned Clothing Swap

As we all know by now, fast fashion is incredibly wasteful. However, giving up online shopping and weekend trips to the mall does not mean you are confined to a boring, invariable wardrobe. While we may not all be the same size as our friends nor have similar styles, most of us have at least one piece of clothing in our closets that we can exchange with a loved one, whether it be a pair of socks, shoelaces, or a t-shirt. By trading a couple of garments with a friend or family member, we obtain an item that we can remember them by, one which we can wear over and over again. For example, I have a sweater that my best friend gave me years ago and every time I wear it, I can’t help but smile and think of this person I care so much about. While this might sound sappy, exchanging personal items such as clothing can help us be mindful of our relationships on a regular basis while also adding waste-free diversity to our closets.


Excursions to the Thrift Store

On weekends or vacations, trips to the local thrift store can be an excellent way to spend time with friends and family while getting some necessary (or unnecessary) shopping done. Not only does thrifting break up the monotony of regular shopping, as it requires some “treasure-hunting,” it is also often better for your wallet, and of course, it extends the lives of many items that would otherwise go to the landfill. Thrifting with a loved one means that not only will you get a second opinion on the wacky clothing or mug you are tempted to buy, but you will also be creating a fun memory to connect with that item.


Getting Crafty

Even though I struggle when it comes to DIY projects, I have still found ways to create homemade” mementos for my friends. For example, I like to leave kind notes on scratch paper around my friends’ rooms or write funny inscriptions in books we might trade. My sibling took a towel from home and embroidered it as a birthday gift for me one year. That was a far more valuable and personal present than anything they could have bought for me at a store or even on Etsy! For those of us who struggle with the arts and crafts, I suggest taking the time to find something simple on Pinterest that one can make. For example, I tied and braided several holey socks together and made a dog toy for a friend who had recently gotten a puppy. Another option for those of us who have the time is to sign up for a class at the Craft Center on campus. The classes are great fun and you will have the opportunity to create something personal and unique to give to friends and family.


While Facetime and Zoom allow us to see and hear each other even when we’re apart, having a tangible item that reminds us of a loved one can help incorporate their presence even further into one’s daily life. While new gifts are great, those that have histories can often feel far more valuable. Some days, I wear three or four items of clothing that my friends have exchanged with me. These are my favorite items, not only because I get to stick it to companies like H&M and Zara, but because they are a constant reminder of the people who make me happiest.






20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page